Polmic - FB

official patronage

Laureates of the 16th International Kazimierz Serocki Composers' Competition 2019


A meeting of the Jury of the 16th International Kazimierz Serocki Composers' Competition was held in Radziejowice on 4-6 October  2019. 

144 scores were sent to the competition, which is held under the honorary patronage of the Polish Composers' Union. The jury composed of Fredrik Österling (Sweden), Paul Patterson (United Kingdom) and Dariusz Przybylski (Poland), awarded four prizes and three honorable mentions.

The first prize of PLN 13,000 was awarded to Jinseok Choi (South Korea) for the work Pathos. Adam Vilagi (Finland) received the second prize of PLN 8,000 for the work Directions. The third prize of PLN 4,000 was awarded to Hugh Collins Rici (Great Britain) for the work Canto Celato. Jinseok Choi was honored with the Special Award of the PWM Edition for the youngest laureate (a set of Polish contemporary scores).

Honorable mentions went to: Youngwoo Yoo (South Korea), Minzuo Lu (China) and Zhaoyu Zhang (China).

The awards were funded by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, ZAiKS Association of Authors, Wirold Lutosławski Society and the Association of Polish Musicians.

The laureates' concert, co-organized with the Polish Radio Programme 2, will take place on 30 November 2019 at the Witol Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert in Warsaw. The concert will be recorded and retransmitted in the Polish Radio Programme 2, and then offered to the broadcasters of the European Radio Union.

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.