Polmic - FB

official patronage

Katowice | Grażyna Bacewicz and America(ns)!


The Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra invites you to a concert of the Silesian Quartet from the series "Grażyna Bacewicz and America(ns)!". On 15 February 2020 at 6.00 p.m. the Silesian chamber musicians together with the flutist János Bálint will perform in the NOSPR Chamber Hall with a repertoire that is an interesting combination of different styles and aesthetics.

The programme will include Snapshot: Circa 1909 by John Coriglian, A Night Piece for flute and string quartet by Arthur Foot, Quintet for flute and string quartet by Walter Piston, and String Quartet No. 3 by Grażyna Bacewicz. As Małgorzata Gąsiorowska points out, "This is one of G. Bacewiczs most internally balanced works, maybe the closest to the ideal 'Sérénité', characteristic of Romanesque spirituality. In this work, whose outer movements show activity as a major creative force, it never comes to extreme situations - in the sense of the word, or in the use of technical resources. The element of movement here is derived from the logic of motivic connections and development of form, the scale of tension is moderated according to internal order, a regular course. In the third Quartet there remained still a characteristic of the composers style of this period: the dominance of linear structures over vertical: the latter, not without a certain harmonic refinement, which however, seems to be the result of the interaction of independent melodic lines."

Media patronage: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.

More information at: http://www.nospr.org.pl/