Polmic - FB

official patronage

Wrocław | Glass Pyramids

NFMLutosławski Quartet will perform at the National Forum of Music in Wrocław on 24 June 2021 at 7.00 p.m. We will hear works that have entered the canon of contemporary classical music, as well as premieres of two pieces by Polish artists.

The concert will premiere works by the Lutosławski Quartet musicians: String Quartet No. 5 by Marcin Markowicz, co-founder and second violinist of the ensemble, as well as On Difficulties in Building Pyramids  a script for string quartet by Marcin Młodawski, the quartet's cellist and concertmaster of the NFM Wrocław Philharmonic.

The programme will also include compositions by the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt, which are among the most popular and most frequently performed works of the present day. His Summa from 1977, which will open the concert, was written for choir to the text of Credo, but later the composer developed different instrumental versions. The concert will end with another composition originally intended for choir and later arranged for other ensembles, Da pacem Domine from 2004. It was commissioned by Jordi Savall, who wanted to add splendour to a concert for peace in Barcelona by performing this beautiful, meditative work. We will also listen to Philip Glass’s String Quartet No. 3 ‘Mishima’ written in 1985.

Media partner: Polish Music Information Centre POLMIC.

More informationhttps://www.nfm.wroclaw.pl/