Polmic - FB

persons' index (P)


Bronisław Kazimierz Przybylski, composer and academic teacher; born on 11th December, 1941 in Lodz. He studied theory of music with professor Franciszek Wesołowski (a degree in 1964) and composition with professor Tomasz Kiesewetter (a degree in 1969) in the State College of Music in Lodz. He completed supplementary composition studies with prof. Bolesław Szabelski in Katowice and prof. Roman Haubenstock – Ramati in Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Vienna (1975-76). Since 1963 he has been teaching in the State College of Music in Lodz – now renamed the Academy of Music – where he has been a professor and the Head of the Chair of Composition since 1987. His compositions were presented at significant contemporary music festivals such as ‘Warsaw Autumn’, ‘Poznan Music Spring’, ‘Musica Polonica Nova’ in Wroclaw, ‘The World Days of Music’ in Tel-Aviv, ‘Musikprotokoll’ in Graz, or ‘The Parisian Tribune of Composers’. They were performed in Europe, the USA, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Japan, the Republic of South Africa, and New Zealand.
Bronislaw Kazimierz Przybylski is a prizewinner of numerous composers’ contests, among others - at the Grzegorz Fitelberg Competition in 1972 he was awarded the 3rd prize for In honorem Nicolai Copernici for orchestra (1972) and again in 1974 – 2nd prize for Guernica-Pablo Picasso in memoriam for orchestra (1974), at the Polish Radio and Television Composers’ Contest in 1972 – 2nd prize for Taniec for string orchestra (1972) and in 1974 – 3rd prize for Pieśń pasterska for voice and chamber orchestra (1974); in 1976 – he was awarded an honorable mention at the International Henryk Wieniawski Composers’ Contest for Capriccio for violin solo (1976), in 1984 – an honorable mention at the UNESCO International Tribune of Composers in Paris for A Varsovie for orchestra (1980).He has also been granted various distinctions – the Minister of National Defence Award (1973), the Silver Cross of Merit (1975), the Minister of Culture and Art 1st degree Award (1980), the Prime Minister’s Award (1981), the Gold Cross of Merit (1983), the Cavalier’s Cross of the Polonia Restituta Order (1999), and the Medal of the National Education Committee (2001).


In Przybylski’s artistic output predominant place is occupied by chamber and solo pieces, in which the composer carries out material, structural and formal experiments. The most significant part of the output seems to be, however, his orchestral works. There, he refers to the European tradition of the late 19th - and early 20th - century symphonic music and willingly makes use of quotations functioning as symbols (e.g. Bogurodzica in Sinfonia polacca, Mozart’s Requiem in Lacrimosa 2000, Chopin’s Mazurka op. 6 no. 2 in A Varsovie), given in crudo or with some modifications. A wide range of means - from strictly diatonic to sonoristic material, from simple structural schemes to open forms – they heavily influence a wide stylistic variety of his works.
Ewa Kowalska-Zając
Encyclopedia of Music by PWM, Cracow 2004

The next composition – a premiere piece by Lodz composer, Bronislaw Kazimierz Przybylski, titled The Sleep of Reason and commissioned by the Warsaw Autumn Festival – made a good contrast. Composer’s comeback to the festival’s lineup (the last time he was performed at the WA was in 1984!) was highly successful. On the one hand, Przybylski perfectly became part of a sonoristic program of the concert starting his piece with a delicately developing violin part supported by ‘creaking’ piano (played on the strings), on the other hand he displayed verve and energy that other compositions lacked. Gradually, his Sleep of Reason gathered momentum, involving other instruments in the development of the piece and gaining more and more power – till the climax and calming down in the coda which ceased with the sound of violins. Formally simple idea, yet carried out really consequently and in a fully convincing way, brought the composer well-deserved applause.
                                                                                                   Beata Bolesławska – Lewandowska
                                                                                                  "Ruch Muzyczny" no.23, Nov. 9th, 2008

Of all the pieces performed at the evening concert on 27th March ( the performer being NOSPR orchestra conducted by Michał Klauza) I remember best The Night Flight for strings by Bronisław Kazimierz Przybylski. Really ‘pure’ music, even though not shunning meaningful rhetoric devices and redeemed by cleverly composed texture.
                                                                                                                                 Magdalena Dziadek
                                                                                                                                  "Slask" Mai, 2009