Polmic - FB

program "composing commissions" (C)


Eunho Chang,

composer; b. 1983, Daegu (South Korea). He graduated the composition class from Kyongbook High School of Art in Daegu 2002, bachelor at the Keimyung-Chopin Academy of Music in Daegu 2008, master of art at the Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw 2011 and finally he obtained the Doctor of Philosophy under promoter prof. Marcin Błażewicz at the Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw 2012. He has studied with Professors as: Zbigniew Rudzinski, Edward Sielicki, Marcin Błażewicz also in the international workshop with leading composer: Unsuk Chin, Beat Furrer, Brian Ferneyhough, Chaya Czernowin, Clemens Gadenstätter, Fabien Lévy, Oscar Bianchi.

Eunho Chang won several prizes at domestic and international competitions: Dong-A Music Competition for Composition - 1st prize (2009) [Korea]; The 2nd Sejong International Music Composition Competition - 1st Prize (2008) [USA]; The 2nd Ignacy Paderewski International Composition Competition - 1st. Prize (2008) [Poland]; The fifth and sixth International Jurgenson Composition Competition - 2nd Prize (1st and 3rd prizes had not been awarded) (2009) and 2nd Prize (1st prize had not awarded) in 2011 [Russia]; Concours de composition pour ensemble de percussions VP 11 - 1st prize, Special prize (SACEM prize), Public prize. (2011) [France]; George Enescu International Competition for composition part Grand Prix of Symphony section in 2011 [Romania]; Semi-Finalist of the 75th International Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2011 [Belgium]; 30th Queen Sofia’s Prize for Music Composition Grand Prix (single of prize) in 2012 [Spain], and 68th Geneva competition Finalist in 2013 [Switzerland].

Also he received scholarships from Keimyung University (2002-2008), Keimyung Research Foundation “Propolonia” (2010, 2011, 2012).

Eunho Chang has numerous musical activities: Introduce his music by The Russian National Broadcasting, participated in Unsuk Chin's master class, participated in The International Music Festival in Daegu, South Korea, participated in the Warsaw Autumn Festival “Organ Odyssey”, performed his piece at the State dinner at the White House in Washington D.C., participated in Arditti Quartet international call for new work for string quartet organized by IMR in London, residence composer in Vacances Percutantes Festival in Marmand France, Korean composer residence program to the National Prague music conservatory organized by Arts council Korea, participated in Pan music festival in Seoul, Korea, invited to give a concert at Royal Castle in Poland, participated IMPULS Academy in Austria, participation “Voix Nouvlles” by Royaumont in France, participated “Tactus composer’s forum” in Brussels and Mons and commissioned by Hwaum project op.121 and invited Jury member of Queen Sofia Prize for composition in Barcelona 2014.

His scores have been published by The Sejong Culture Society in USA (2008) and Simon Verlag in Germany (2011).

Eunho Chang’s works has been performed by Arditti Quartet (UK), Sound New Ensemble (Russia), Tactus Percussion Ensemble (France), Mark Perkasky Percussion Ensemble (Russia), The President's Own United States Marine Band (USA), SurPlus Ensemble (Germany), Ensemble SORI (Korea), NeoQuartet (Poland), Klangforum Wien (Austria), the Ensemble Contrechamps (Swiss), Musiques Nouvelles (Belgium), Opium Quartet (Poland), Spanish Radio-television Symphonic Orchestra, William Blank (Conductor), Carlos Kalmar (Cond.), Enno Poppe (Cond.), Jean-Paul Dessy (Cond.), Gregory Charette (Cond.), Kristof Barati (Vn.), Felix Renggli (Fl.), Michinori Bunya (Cb.).

November 2014 (ai)

The composer's website: www.eunhochang.com


3 Piano Preludes (2005-06)
Flute Sonata (2006)
Light Break Where no Sun Shines for soprano and piano (2007)
Sunrise on the Sea for organ and bassoon or trombone (2007)
5 Meditations for 5 Instruments for voice, violin, flute, piano (1st version - trombone) and timpani (2007-11)
The Unification of The Four Elements for piano (2008)
Sanjo for violin solo (2008)
String Quartet No. 1 (2008)
Festival for 6 percussions (2009)
The Room chamber opera (2009)
Sanjo I for violin solo (2010)
Impromptu for oboe and viola (2010)
5 Bagatellen for  alto saxophone, multi percussion and cello (2010)
The Human symphonic poem (2010)
Sanjo II for double bass solo (2010-11)
Fantasia Luminosité for Violin Concerto (2010-11)
Sanjo III for flute solo (2011)
Sanjo V – Fantasia for organ solo (2011)
String Quartet No. 2 (2011)
Spirit for Graphic score for piano, violin and cello (2011)
Symphony No. 1 for large orchestra (2011)
Sanjo IV for Soprano solo (2012)
White Shadow for 6 percussion players (2012)
Podolanka for String Quartet (2012)
Kaleidoscope for flute, percussion, piano and cello (2012)
Le magicien aux ailes d'argent for flute solo with string orchestra and 2 percussion (2012)
Nocturne for violin solo (2012)
Kyrie for mixed choir (2012)
Ave Maria for soprano and organ (2012)
Color II for 10 instruments (2012)
Gohok for flute solo with 5 instruments (2012-13)
le Café for 2 sopranos (2013)
Agnus Dei for children's choir (2013)
The Dove and the Ant for children's choir (2013)
Aria in D for double bass solo (2013)
Five Fantasies for string quartet and chamber orchestra (2013)
Pattern for ensemble (2014)
Suite "Metaphor" for children for flute and cello (2014)
Keimyung cantata (2014)
Concerto for Orchestra (2014)
Aria in A for violin solo (2014)