Polmic - FB

composers (J)


Dobromiła Jaskot,

composer, b. 29th May 1981 in Toruń (Thorn). She studied composition with Lidia Zielińska in the Music Academy in Poznań (an honours degree in 2005), she completed the Postgraduate Study of Special, Computer, Film and Theatre Composition in the Music Academy in Wrocław (2007) and the Postgraduate Study of Film Computer, and Audiovisual Composition in the Music Academy in ŁodźŁodź. In 2011, she obtained her PhD in composition at the Music Academy in Wrocław

She has taken part in numerous courses for composers and performers, such as the International Course for Composers in Jelenia Góra (1999), the Chamber Music Course in Nowy Sącz (1999), the Course for Performers of 20th-Century Piano and Vocal Music in Bystrzyca Kłodzka (1999, 2000), The “Acanthes” International Course for Composers in Villeneuve-les-Avignon (2002), the International Workshops of Contemporary Music Cracow/Stuttgart (2002), the International Workshops of Contemporary Music – New Technologies and Multimedia Art in Gdańsk (2002), the Composition Workshops “New Music – Contemporary Composition Techniques” in Warsaw (2003), the International Bartók Seminar in Szombathely, Hungary (2003), and Workshops of Interactive Music in Wrocław (2005).

Dobromiła Jaskot has won awards in national and international competitions for composers and performers, including in 1999 - the 3rd prize in the “Crescendo” National Competition for Composers in Tarnów and participation (as a pianist) in the finals of the 20th-Century Music Competition for Young Performers; in 2000 – the 1st prize in the “Youth Forum” International Competition for Composers in Warsaw; in April 2005 she was a finalist of the “Kultursalon Hoerbiger” International Competition for Pianists and Composers in Vienna; in 2008 – she received the 3rd prize in the Zbigniew Herbert Competition for Composers, part of the PROBALTICA Festival, and reached the 2nd stage of the 1st OPUS Public Media Awards. She was also awarded the President of Thorn City Award (2000), a scholarship from the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage for outstanding achievements in the field of music (2000, 2004, 2007, 2012, 2017), AUKSO Foundation scholarship (2004) and the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung scholarship (2007), Society of Authors ZAiKS, Fundusz Promocji Twórczości (2010), the award of the chancellor of the Academy of Music in Bydgoszcz for her artistic and teaching output (2011), the Governor of the Kujawsko-Pomorskie Province (2013). She participated in the international CCM Composer-in-Residence Project in Mills College in California (2010).

Her compositions have been performed at international festivals, such as the “UltraSchall” International Festival of New Music in Berlin, the “Warsaw Autumn”, “Musica Electronica Nova”, “Musica Polonica Nova”, “Poznań Music Spring”, “Malta” Theatre Festival, Contemporary Music Week in Esbjerg, as well as other events in Germany, the Netherlands, Hungary, Denmark, Austria, and Portugal, and broadcast by, among others, Deutschlandradio Kultur, Rundfunk Berlin Brandenburg, Polish Radio Programme 2, Radio Bis, Radio Copernicus, Radio Monaliza. On 7th April 2006 the Grand Theatre – National Opera in Warsaw presented the world premiere of her interactive chamber opera Fedra (2005-2006). This performance was awarded by "Polityka” magazine as one of the eight most important events of the year in the cathegory "classical music".

Dobromiła Jaskot focuses on multimedia art, especially – on interactive projects. She is also actively engaged in the organization of interdisciplinary conferences, festivals and concerts of contemporary music (particularly – electro-acoustic and multimedia). She also gives concerts as a pianist performing contemporary music.

In 2005-2015, Jaskot worked in the Music Academy in Bydgoszcz, mostly – as a lecturer and a head of the Electro-acoustic Studio. At present she lives and works in Australia; as a pianist she is a member of the new SOUNDSTORM ensemble.

updated: November 2017 (wa)


 Official artist's website:






Ehwaz for two percussionists (2002)
Atnongara for solo piano (2002)
anAphrase for violin and tape (2003)
phrasAmador for cello and tape (2003)
how-who for female voice and live electronics (2003)
Liija for tape (2003)
Gardens for tape (2003)
Hagalaz for clarinet, cello and piano (2004)
Ingwaz for instrumental ensemble (2005)
Fedra, interactive chamber opera (2005-2006)
The Spiral of Light for recorder (or transverse flute), 2 violins and cello (2006)
hannah for cello and electronics (2007)
Linearia for string quartet (2007)
Res for solo piano (2007-2008)
Hum for Kwartludium and beat-boxer (2008)
Hum… for beat-boxer, clarinet, violin, piano and percussion (2009)
eXntropia for large symphony orchestra (2009)
Music for the theatre play Ksiądz Marek , dir. by Paweł Goźliński (2009)
Music for the theatre play Różowe Strusie Pióra dir. by Aneta Groszczyńska (2009)
Chopin Quest, audio-visual project  (2010)
Music for the theatre play Fabrec dir. by Małgorzata Głuchowska (2010)
Echeveria for large symphony orchestra (2011)
Catty Didos for tape (2012)
Aeshna for piano quartet (2012)
Chatayu for instrumental ensemble (2012)
Music for the theatre play Judyta, dir. by Paweł Goźliński (2012)
Bright Star for piano (2013)
Eizzcok for tape (2013)
Small Ball, interactive installation for children (2013)
Elferiae for string quartet (2013)
Slejpnir for male voice, piano, percussion objects and amplification (2014)
Hgrrrsht for 2 amplified flutes and larynxs (2015)
Loogshmaar for 26 loudspeakers (2015)
Soarrrshtoong for solo violin (2017)