polmic logo 2009 250

FB 50
Tadeusz Paciorkiewicz: 20th death anniversary
19 marca 2018, Warszawa
Prepremiere of Marian Borkowski's "Symphony"
21 March 2018, Warsaw
4th Malopolska Academy of Talents
1–8 July 2018, Łącko
Ogólnopolski Konkurs Orkiestr Smyczkowych
27-28 marca 2018, Bydgoszcz

composers (J)


Dobromiła Jaskot,

composer, b. 29th May 1981 in Toruń (Thorn). She studied composition with Lidia Zielińska in the Music Academy in Poznań (an honours degree in 2005), and in 2007 she completed the Postgraduate Study of Special, Computer, Film and Theatre Composition in the Music Academy in Wrocław.

She has taken part in numerous courses for composers and performers, such as the International Course for Composers in Jelenia Góra (1999), the Chamber Music Course in Nowy Sącz (1999), the Course for Performers of 20th-Century Piano and Vocal Music in Bystrzyca Kłodzka (1999, 2000), The “Acanthes” International Course for Composers in Villeneuve-les-Avignon (2002), the International Workshops of Contemporary Music Cracow/Stuttgart (2002), the International Workshops of Contemporary Music – New Technologies and Multimedia Art in Gdańsk (2002), the Composition Workshops “New Music – Contemporary Composition Techniques” in Warsaw (2003), the International Bartók Seminar in Szombathely, Hungary (2003), and Workshops of Interactive Music in Wrocław (2005).

Dobromiła Jaskot has won awards in national and international competitions for composers and performers, including in 1999 - the 3rd prize in the “Crescendo” National Competition for Composers in Tarnów and participation (as a pianist) in the finals of the 20th-Century Music Competition for Young Performers; in 2000 – the 1st prize in the “Youth Forum” International Competition for Composers in Warsaw; in April 2005 she was a finalist of the “Kultursalon Hoerbiger” International Competition for Pianists and Composers in Vienna; in 2008 – she received the 3rd prize in the Zbigniew Herbert Competition for Composers, part of the PROBALTICA Festival, and reached the 2nd stage of the 1st OPUS Public Media Awards. She was also awarded the President of Thorn City Award (2000), a scholarship from the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage for outstanding achievements in the field of music (2000, 2004, 2007), AUKSO Foundation scholarship (2004) and the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung scholarship (2007).

Her compositions have been performed at international festivals, such as the “UltraSchall” International Festival of New Music in Berlin, the “Warsaw Autumn”, “Musica Electronica Nova”, “Musica Polonica Nova”, “Poznań Music Spring”, “Malta” Theatre Festival, Contemporary Music Week in Esbjerg, as well as other events in Germany, the Netherlands, Hungary, Denmark, Austria, and Portugal, and broadcast by, among others, Deutschlandradio Kultur, Rundfunk Berlin Brandenburg, Polish Radio Programme 2, Radio Bis, Radio Copernicus, Radio Monaliza.

On 7th April 2006 the Grand Theatre – National Opera in Warsaw presented the world premiere of her interactive chamber opera Fedra (2005-2006).

Dobromiła Jaskot focuses on multimedia art, especially – on interactive projects. She is also actively engaged in the organization of interdisciplinary conferences, festivals and concerts of contemporary music (particularly – electro-acoustic and multimedia). She also gives concerts as a pianist performing contemporary music.

Since 2005, Jaskot has given lectures in the Music Academy in Bydgoszcz, mostly – in its Electro-acoustic Studio.

updated: November 2008


Ehwaz for two percussionists (2002)
Atnongara for solo piano (2002)
anAphrase for violin and tape (2003)
phrasAmador for cello and tape (2003)
how-who for female voice and live electronics (2003)
Liija for tape (2003)
Gardens for tape (2003)
Hagalaz for clarinet, cello and piano (2004)
Ingwaz for instrumental ensemble (2005)
Fedra, interactive chamber opera (2005-2006)
The Spiral of Light for recorder (or transverse flute), 2 violins and cello (2006)
hannah for cello and electronics (2007)
Linearia for string quartet (2007)
Res for solo piano (2007-2008)
Hum for Kwartludium and beat-boxer (2008)